EU Cooperation

The European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP)

European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) covers sixteen countries:
South: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine , Syria and Tunisia
East: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, ( Russia takes part in Cross-Border Cooperation activities under the ENP and is not a part of the ENP as such.)

Through ENP, the EU works with its Southern and Eastern neighbours to achieve the closest possible political association and the greatest possible degree of economic integration. This goal builds on common interests and on values — democracy, the rule of law, the respect for human rights, and social cohesion. The ENP is a key part of European Union's foreign policy. The ENP has been launched in 2003 and developed throughout 2004, with the objective of avoiding the emergence of new dividing lines between the enlarged EU and its neighbours and instead, strengthening the prosperity, stability and security of all.

ENP review

The ENP was reviewed in 2011, following the 'Arab Spring' uprisings. However, given the significant developments in the Neighbourhood since 2011, it became essential to undertake a further review of the ENP. In this regard, a Joint Communication setting out the main lines of the review of the ENP has been published on 18 November 2015.

During the public consultation of this review more than 250 contributions were received from partner countries, international organisations, social partners, civil society and academia. Under the revised ENP, stabilisation of the region, in political, economic, and security-related terms, are at the heart of the new policy. Moreover, the revised ENP puts a strong emphasis on two principles: the implementation of a differentiated approach to Neighbours of the EU, to respect the different aspirations of partner countries and to better answer EU interests and the interests of the partners; and an increased ownership by partner countries and Member States.

Neighbourhood South

Relations between the EU and the countries on its Southern flank go back a long way, from 1995 when the Euro-Med Partnership (Barcelona Process) was launched. Since then, these partner countries have become part of the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP), and participate in the Union for the Mediterranean, set up in 2008. The Southern countries participating in the ENP and getting support from its financial arm, the European Neighbourhood Instrument (ENI) are: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Libya, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia.

Read more:
Euro-Mediterranean Partnership (EUROMED)
Neighbourhood South